Daily Archives: March 10, 2012

A Big Week in Antigua

Sir Vivian Richards....Cricketer

Lots going on this past week in Antigua!  The beloved cricketer Sir Isaac Vivian Alexander Richards was home to celebrate his 60th birthday in a week-long celebration.

Sir Viv or King Vic as he is often called, was voted one of the top five cricketers of the 20th Century. He has many other honors as well…best ODI (One Day International) batsman of all time, 3rd greatest Test batsman of all time and the best ODI innings of all time.  I’m not sure what that means, but I do know that he is a national hero in Antigua.

The birthday celebration started off last Saturday with a walk for breast cancer.  I am wearing the shirt that promoted this event.  This shirt is a little big, so I think I’ll save it for Frank (just kidding, dear).

There was also an Invitational Golf Tournament that featured four other cricketer Knights, a church service, an official banquet at Sandals, and a sports day at the Antigua Recreational Grounds.  There is a huge cricket stadium in Antigua which is named after him.

The Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium in Antigua.  I pass this everyday on my way to work.  More about cricket when I learn how it is played.

Also this week, Antigua hosted a royal visit of Prince Edward,  Earl of Wessex and Princess (Sophie) Edward, Countess of Wessex in commemoration of the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

Disembarking at Nelson's Dockyard

I was a little disappointed that we didn’t get Prince Harry…he got to go to Jamaica and some of the other islands.

Prince Harry in Jamaica

The royal couple sailed into Nelson’s Dockyard on their yacht, the Leander.

The Leander

As part of their visit, they toured the Princess Margaret Secondary School and the Adele School for children with special needs.

Tree planting at Nelson's Dockyard, a National Park in Antigua

There were state dinners, a tree planting ceremony, and  tours of other facilities across the island.  Here is the royal couple with Prime Minister Spencer.

Here is Prime Minister Spencer and the Royal Couple

Four Horses and One Incorrigible Goat

This was the first thing I saw when I returned home at noon the other day.  It was my own fault, I left the gate open.  But the goats generally don’t hit my area until late afternoon, so I left the gate open, knowing that I’d be stopping by at noon.  But what to my wondering eyes should appear but four horses grazing in my yard. I have no idea where they came from.  I chased them out of the yard.  It was easy.

And there they go.

Later that afternoon, I came home to find about 15 goats in the yard.  I thought I had completely closed the gate, but it was ajar when I got home and the goats were eating the grass and pooping in my yard.

The principal at one of the schools where I work at told me that only way to get rid of the goats is to bark like a dog.  I happened to be with her recently when the goats invaded the school property.  She said, “Watch this.”  A few short moments later, I heard this loud barking sound and the goats took off out of the yard and into the field across from the school.  So I figured I’d try this myself.

So, I started to bark, unfortunately, not much like a dog, but the goats, all  but one started to run.  I had to position myself carefully so that the goats didn’t run to the other side of the yard.  I was able to corral the goats out of the yard…all but one.  The Bully Goat, that’s what I called him, stood and just looked at me.  I looked at him and barked and he just looked at me.  When I approached closer, the Bully goat moved a bit, but then stopped and assumed a masterful posture, as if saying to me, “Try to get me out of here.”  I couldn’t believe it!  I picked up a few rocks and tried to throw them and bark at the same time.  I throw like a girl.  I know that is a sexist comment, but I do…it’s pathetic.

We had quite a showdown, that goat and me.  I finally got him out of the yard and closed the gate, but he didn’t leave.  He stood in the middle of the road and stared at me.   A few minutes later, I had to leave for my evening course at Antigua State College. The goat was still grazing outside my gate.  He moved back as I got into the car and approached the gate.  He watched me open the gate and move the car forward.  He watched me close the gate and still he wasn’t done with me…not until I got back in the car and began to move toward him and blew my horn, did he turn and join the pack on the other side of the road.  This guy (the goat) was not happy with me.  I only hope that we don’t lock horns again.