Daily Archives: March 18, 2012

Girl’s Day Out

My friend Pat, arrived on Friday. She and I will be traveling to Barbuda on Monday to work with the Holy Trinity School there. Here she is at a restaurant at Runaway Bay.

For our first day in Antigua, we decided to go to St. John’s to sightsee and shop. First we visited the Museum of Antigua and Barbuda. A great way to start the day!  I studied the section on Barbuda, since we’d be traveling there on Monday.

Then we moved further east. I’d been to the Quays previously and found the salespeople very engaging and supportive. One time I arrived home after spending way more than I’ve even spent on a pair of pants. So today we were forewarned. We bought little trinkets and things for folks at home and had lunch at a Harbour Café overlooking one of the cruse ships.

Paula Spencer and her son met us there. Paula had lived with Pat when she was studying for her master’s degree at Rivier College, where I work. Paula had helped to make the arrangements for us both to go to Barbuda to work in the schools. It was great to chat and laugh and catch up on things.

As we were leaving the area, Paula pointed to a shop, Noreen Phillips. She said we had to go in. She was going to join us, but realized that her son was not interested in shopping. So Pat and I were on our own. Noreen Phillips is located on Redcliffe Quay. What a great lady. Noreen sews original designs. There was a dress that I just loved and after little coaxing I tried it on. Noreen’ daughter works there. She designs and makes jewelry. I tried on the dress and then was decked out with a necklace and shoes. While this was happening, Noreen was altering a top that Pat had on that she didn’t think was hanging correctly. Then Pat tried on a crocheted short sweater, made by Noreen’s mother. Noreen’s granddaughter than came down and offered us something to drink. What a cutie pie. I asked the little girl if she was learning to sew and she said, yes. Talk about a family enterprise We had a wonderful time in the shop and left with all kinds of tips on restaurants that we should try, with phone numbers to make reservations. I will definitely stop there again before I go home.